Upside Down Inside Out

Ever been tempted to pretend you were someone exotic, someone adventurous … someone different?

Set in Ireland, England and Australia, this is the funny and heartwarming story of two people whose lives are about to turn upside down and inside out.

Eva is off to Australia on a break from her job in a Dublin delicatessen, hoping to forget a fizzled romance and find inspiration for a new career. Joseph is taking a holiday from his stressful London job.

Each is on a search for some answers about life.

Then something quite unexpected happens.

They meet each other.

Upside Down Inside Out is a novel about love, adventure, honesty and discovering that the person you’ve always wanted to be might just be the person you already are.

Reviews

McInerney’s delightful tricountry romp is bubbling with life, love and unexpected twists.
Booklist, American Library Association, June 2008

Fans of Monica McInerney’s warm writing style will feel right at home with her newest novel, “Upside Down Inside Out.” As usual, her characters seem charmingly real, her descriptions of Ireland and Australia are visual and picturesque, and the story is engaging… Blending an interesting mixture of likable and eccentric personalities with hidden secrets, engaging locales and themes of love and friendship, “Upside Down Inside Out” satisfies.
The Free-Lance Star, Fredericksburg, VA., USA, August 2008

Subtle, gentle humour … I loved the chance to “see” Dublin, the Irish countryside, Melbourne and South Australia.
Please click here for full review: Dear Author.com, June 30, 2008

Glorious summer fun read … Fans of Sophie Kinsella, Jennifer Weiner, Helen Fielding, and Jennifer Crusie will find Monica McInerney’s Upside Down Inside Out‘s Eva Kennedy rivals the likes of Bridget Jones, Cannie Shapiro and Becky Bloomwood.
Please click here for full review: Curled Up With A Good Book website, USA, June 2008

A hilarious story of two people discovering who they are and what they want out of life… A fun summer read.
Romance Reviews Today, USA, July 2008.

A classic beach read.
The Sacramento Bee, USA, June 2008

The perfect holiday romp…A fresh and fun read that will win the attention of its readers for its warm and bubbly tone… McInerney’s style is so attractive that even the most snobbish highbrow book lover will be cheering on the two heroes by the end of the book.
Irish Tatler, May 2002

There is a huge ‘aaahh’ factor in Monica McInerney’s second novel… The book is great fun (but) laughter aside, there’s also a serious aspect regarding communication, truth and honesty and how vital these are in close relationships.
Irish Examiner, September 2002

Sparkling… it’s all systems go for a wonderful romance… A long, glorious romp with a supporting cast of entertaining characters. The author leads us skillfully through this maze of near-misses and misunderstandings, and delivers a charming story told with large doses of love and humour.
Australian Women’s Weekly, February 2002

An effervescent blend of romance, humour, travel and adventure.
Marie Claire (Australia), March 2002

Audio Book

An audio edition of Upside Down Inside Out is available from Bolinda.
Listen to a sample

Read an excerpt

Read an excerpt from Upside Down Inside Out